Hello Everyone! I'm new to this forum and new to reborning

Hello Everyone! My name is Holly Hansen. I’m new to reborning and have enjoyed reading your post and seeing all of your WIP and completed babies. I have a couple of kits. I also have GHSP from my play in clay…I’ve sculpted 30 mini babies but haven’t done that in awhile. I’m taking Evon Nather painted hair class in the upcoming ROSE doll show and need to have a head with at least one layer of skin tone…I was planning on using my warm blush for the blushing but from reading the posts on here I’m thinking I should use something else…what color do you use? and how many skin tone layers and blush layers do you typically put on a doll? And any other pointers or tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a bunch!!

11 Likes

Welcome to the group! I use the lip/blush/nail color for blushing myself sometimes I mix a little flesh color in with it to lighten it up a bit. Skin layers vary by kit for me sometimes it only takes 2 layers but I have had a few that took 4 or 5 just do what you fill looks best.

2 Likes

Ditto to what Amanda posted. From what I understand “stay away from the warm blush” I started reborning back in May or June of 2015 so I’m fairly new here too. Welcome to this awesome group of reborn artists!! You’re going to find a wealth of knowledge here. The members here are amazing and so great about sharing tips and secrets of making these beautiful babies!!!

3 Likes

Thank you Amanda and Jackie! So nice you meet you and thanks for the tips!

1 Like

Welcome, Holly! Yes, stay far, far away from the warm blush!! I’d suggest looking at some tutorials to get color suggestions that work together.

This is a great tutorial that’s put together in albums:

Learn to Reborn the Beautiful Baby Way

2 Likes