Those who sell

So i was a reborn artist for over 20 years. I stopped when the scammers took over and kept stealing my pictures and descriptions from my listings.

I have boxes and boxes of sculpts i bougbt before the scammers. All new and ready for paint.

Im just not sure if its worth it. Im not sure i can get what they are worth. I was selling for 500$ before…

I mentioned to my husband that maybe i should start again to get up some $ to pay down some debt.

He thinks i should just concentrate on the bears and getting good enough to sell them.

So my question is for those who sell higher priced babies in the current climate. Is it worth it? Do they sell? Should i jump back into making them? For reference these are some of my past babies. All sold.

9 Likes

Your babies are good and I like that they don’t all look the same. They did sell. If you really enjoyed it, I’d make 2 or 3, put them out there for sale and see what happens. Then decide.

6 Likes

You would probably be able to get more for your babies now than you did then. As someone who makes babies and all their clothing, you can absolutely do both at the same time. It just takes planning.

3 Likes

I’m not sure exactly when you started or stopped, so please consider this just general advice.

If you have long sold out and sought after kits (ex. Sunny Kazmierczak, Grayson Brown) those dolls will sell quickly and for high prices, no problem.

If you have kits that are so old that they don’t come with COAs and are from sculptors who aren’t super popular, it will take a lot more time for those to sell.

Anything in the middle is hard to predict.

You can use the reborns dot com “sold” page to get an idea of how things are selling these days. eBay has fallen out of favor.

1 Like

Does painting babies spark joy in you? If yes, definitely dive back in. Your babies are pretty and well done. If you start with a couple of non-rares from your stash, you can gauge a few things: