Thinners Bob Ross or Mona Lisa?

I’ve been using Mona Lisa but have been getting headaches and moments where my ear hurts. I don’t know if they are phantom pains since I’m thinking of the thinner when I’m using it. Does anyone else get slight headaches? Would Bob Ross br safer to use? I’ve been painting for 2 years and am concerned about long term health effects.

1 Like

I’m not sure if Bob Ross is safer, but I know Gamsol is safer. Also, unless you are using it keep it covered, because the gas it let’s off is invisible and odorless, and it won’t stop letting off gas so it builds up. You can also open a window and point a fan so that any gas is being pushed outside, or some even use a gas mask.

2 Likes

try the museum thinner from macphersons

1 Like

The thinner is definitely not good for your health. Some people wear a mask when they use it, while others made the switch to air dry for health reasons.
You should always use it in a well ventilated area, like near an opened window.

1 Like

I don’t get headaches but the smell of the vinyl cooking bothers my breathing a little. And if the Mona Lisa touches my skin, it peels off the next day.

1 Like

The vinyl heating up is what makes it toxic. The paint, so I have been told, is nontoxic, but the vinyl is toxic when it gets hot. I have never done Genesis, and I don’t think I every will.

1 Like

I used heat set on my first doll but the fumes and the odor of the thinner gave me such a bad headache and affected my breathing that I just switched to air dry. I got light headed too but I am not certain if that was caused by the fumes or not.

1 Like

Yeah I also heard air dry isn’t the best with fumes either. Looks like I lose either way. I’ll use my ventilation mask and continue to keep the room eventuates and let me parts cool all the way down in the oven before taking them out. Thanks everyone.

“Ventilate” autocorrect :frowning:

1 Like

What fumes? I have never noticed any.

3 Likes