Reason for Nursery Names

Can anyone tell me what the reason for the nursery name? Does that mean you actually have a business rather than a hobby or what? Where do you check to see if names are already in use? When you pick a name does it have to be registered somewhere and does it cost money? Can you just have a business card with your name and phone number on it rather than a nursery name? I don’t know anything about this aspect, help please.

2 Likes

I suppose i need to know these answers too although I prefer blissful ignorance! (Honojane’s Reborns isn’t a business. I’m a just for fun hobbyist) Okay. Answer up ladies. Sigh.

2 Likes

If you sell your babies, it’s a great way to ‘mark’ your work and also helps customers find you.

4 Likes

I don’t know why I settled on my nursery name…My Blissful Babies…it just came to me. I then decided to save the domain name (just in case). The next step I took was to order cards, decided on a brand (cutesie owls) and then attempted to build a web site. I still only sell by word of mouth but that’s my own preference after hearing all of y’all’s horror stories…lol.

2 Likes

But is there a list somewhere that lets you know if the name is taken? Also does this cost money and do you register the name somewhere?

I used GoDaddy to select or reserve my domain name. I typed in a couple of other names first and it came back saying unavailable. Of course I could have used .net or something else and it might have been available. I just figured most people would use .com. I paid I think $60 for 2 years. Just can’t remember. Also…not sure if there is an actual list of Nursery names out there. @pia probably knows.

2 Likes