Pricing, I'm new to reborning...I

I just completed my first reborn, I think I did a pretty good job. Actually she my second, my first was a beginner’s practice kit. I so enjoyed doing both. I have a question about pricing though, people become alarmed with prices of $300 or more. How do I get them to understand the time & money put into the dolls? I feel that I’m cheating myself at $300 but I know I need to build a customer base. Any suggestions?

3 Likes

I am 2 years in and almost 70 dolls and rarely get $300

Just don’t want you to get your hopes too high and feel discouraged. I also just sold my first one in 3 months.

It is very hit or miss. But I also dont promote my listing much on social media and dont list on ebay.
Maybe my sales would pick up if I did.

4 Likes

How much are you selling yours for?

The one I just sold was $200 for realborn Emma with prisma (pencil drawn) hair

I have 3 others that have not sold since Dec.
2 are limited editions and one of those are rooted. (their prices are a little higher but still around the $300 area and I dont even get inquiries…)

Other people are selling around that price though but mostly well known kits.

2 Likes

All of my first beginner dolls ,probably about 25 or 30 dolls went to friends and family for free or the price of supplies. That was 15 years ago.Been selling for over 13 years now and way back when my babies brought $350 and up, Now mine bring anywhere from $200 to $350, unless they are toddler size and I have made a lot of reborns in all those years. Unless you are a really good artist,the market is not like it used to be price wise.

2 Likes

For my first few, I sold them for about $100-$150.
So basically the supply costs and then a little more.
$300 may be too much for a second doll.

4 Likes

Okay, here is what I would do:

First go to Reborns.com and click “adopted”, then look around at the price and quality of the reborns actually being sold.

Be super honest about your work.