Heat set vs Air Dry?

Hi guys, I’m new to collecting dolls and trying to do the research involved in gifting my elderly Mom her first reborn. Wondering what the difference is between Genesis Heat Set paints and Air Dry. Obviously one is set with heat, but is there any difference in quality or longevity.

Also, what else should I be looking out for in terms of quality and construction?

Finding what I’m looking for is sure a challenge. About the time I’m considering a doll in my budget on reborns.com they get snapped up within hours!

Thanks in advance!

4 Likes

Welcome! What a wonderful gift idea for your mother!

I’m sure if you state your budget there are more likely than not a few artist here who have babies that would fit your needs!

Both heat set paint and air dry paint hold up for collector dolls that are handled gently and cared for properly.

The difference is usually the preference of the artist. Like a painter who works in charcoal, pastels acrylics, or oils on canvas etc or clay etc it is how the artist expresses themselves and can be as easy a decision as what they are used to, ease of availability or maybe they chose not to mess with the heat set part :woman_shrugging:t2:

I’m sure the artists here will be happy to explain :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

Good luck in your quest for the perfect baby for your budget!

What are you liking for? Newborn? Bigger baby? Awake? Sleeping? Painted or rooted hair? Does your mother have a pace maker that a magnetic pacifier interfere with?

3 Likes

I’m so glad you asked. I’ve been making my family a little crazy trying to shop for the details since they aren’t into dolls. Lol

Mom is wanting a sleeping baby girl, should look well under a year old. (Not a toddler.)
She wants one hand open and one closed, or both looking relaxed, not fists or splayed out.
Full arms and legs of vinyl.
Painted or combi hair. Rooted eyelashes.
Ideally it would be about in the 5 or 6 pound range or under.