Having trouble with reborn air dry paints rubbing off

I just recently ordered a try me set of paints that are called Art And Magic Waterborne Reborn air dry try me set. And I am having trouble with them rubbing off.I read the instruction on how to use them.I washed my kit in warm dish soap and after all the parts dried I applied the Clear Base Coat And Surface vinyl prep.Then I let it sit over night. Then the next day I started painting. I didn’t add any matte medium or anything else besides water and I found out that next day they starter to rub off.I also rubbed on one of the limbs and the paint started to come off. Didn’t know If I should of added a matte medium or a medium that would have helped for the paint not to rub off? I am not sure why they did but wanted some advice on what I can do? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2 Likes

Ive never used that paint before but Ive used Liquitex, JoSonja and RebornFX. I now mainly use Golden fluid paints and prefer them over any. I typically seal my dolls with tiny bit of Liquitex matte gel and distilled water…it ends up looking like skim milk. I paint it on and then pounce with kabuki brushes, it looks like there is none left behind but it leaves a very thin coating and also leaves tooth for the paint to grab. Golden paints are awesome and they dont easily come off once dry, you can even wash your doll with soap and a soft brush before varnishing. I mix them with Golden satin glazing liquid, a very tiny amount of retarder and a mix of wetting agent and distilled water.

1 Like

I use that paint and I mix my paints with water and the matte sealer. I found that on a tutorial for them and it’s worked great for me. If you have the ultra matte gel that works also.

1 Like