Do u get offended

So am I the only one that gets offended when someone says our dolls look like deceased babies? It really bothers me!

I’m not going to lie and say it doesn’t bother me. I am getting tougher about it but it’s part of the reason I haven’t done a vendor event/show yet.

1 Like

I think my coloring doesn’t look dead😡 I guess I’m a sensitive artist lol. I did have one that kinda look that way so I gave her a more peaches and cream look that looked much better. I understand some love them and some hate them but…

2 Likes

I’ve only ever had one person say that and the doll was in a white box for a raffle so maybe it looked like a coffin to her. Now I’d display it in a basket. The person who won it was thrilled to pieces with her baby.

2 Likes

I have seen some babies who look a little post mortem but I think they mostly mean it is because they look so real but they are not moving or breathing.

These babies have that uncanny-valley thing going on.

People only have two reactions… I love it, can I hold it, I can’t believe its a doll, how much do you charge, where can I get one.

or

No thanks, that is creepy, it looks dead, I don’t like it.

Both mean you did a great job and their mind is totally firing all kinds of conflicted thoughts.

I personally love it when people love them but I understand when they don’t, its really for the same reason.

15 Likes

I don’t get offended, per se, but I do get tired of people feeling the need to tell me that same thing multiple times or telling me that they are creepy :roll_eyes: I hear it from every other person that sees them. The good news is that they are good enough to land in the “uncanny valley,” which is a phenomenon where people are naturally disturbed by things that look too human-like.

7 Likes