New: Tips for rooting?

Hi all! I’m fairly new to the reborning community. I have made three dolls so far. They are cute. But not exactly what I was going for. Do any of you have any tips or pointers on rooting the head? I can get the basic hair line just fine, but what about the baby dust hair by the temple? I don’t know how to do it. :frowning: Tips would be great! TIA
-Crystal

i have only been reborning for a year and am always learning something new. i have a serious problem with micro rooting. but a lot of ladies use the small single barb needles to grab less hair. also for the really light hairs on the sides you can use a prisma pencil. and this is one head map i want to try

What’s that pencil you mentioned and where do I get it? Also, how do you seal the pencil on so it doesn’t just rub off?

The head mapping photo did not load for me? I would love to see it though. @GigisRebornNursery - root the fine temple hairs with a 43g single barb needle. You have to root it with the needle a a pretty good angle so,the hair lays close to the head. The pencil becomes semi-set after a day or so. I remember when I did. Head of hair with it that Nicole Russell said to lightly press (gently) with a cosmetic sponge that had a bit of Genesis thinning medium on it and baking it.

1 Like

the picture i put up was from the Little Wrens Nest rooting tutorial page. not sure why it didnt load for you.

@pia thanks! I have two different shades in my cart right now. Just for a little demention. Would it look bad if I drew it on with the pencil and root some in? I see people painting it on and then rooting, but I’m not THAT good yet! Lol

Here’s Little Wren’s Nest Rooting Tutorial:

http://www.littlewrensnest.com/Tutorials3.html

I hope it is not in the Bountiful Baby Cart - that is Ruby Red and very difficult for many of us to root. There are several reborn artists that do painted hair and then root over it with less hair than if they were rooting it only.