My First Time Rooting

I finally started rooting my Ethnic Jake. At first I was just trying to see how hard it was and as I noticed the hair getting in the vynil I just couldn’t stop myself.

What I don’t like

1. The hair colour against the baby’s skin tone. I think it makes him look like an adult.

2. I didn’t think I would root so closely but I didn’t want hair too sparse as I wanted a similar effect to my two sons’ hair.

My sons as newborns and their hair.

3. The skin tone had already started coming off but I didn’t feel like adding more colour as I used primary method and last time I had too much a red baby.

Please give me constructive criticism as I am still new to this art.

PS. My supplier sent me this hair for free.

5 Likes

Looking good! I’ve seen photos of dark skinned babies with fairer hair. The main thing about baby hair is the length - a lot of people give reborns super long hair. This is fine, because people can create dolls however they like. But I work at a baby goods store and pretty much every baby under 14 months has short hair. All little Jake needs is a haircut!!

Kim from CustomDollBaby.com has links somewhere to the kind of curly black hair in the photos. Your sons are beautiful :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Yes I forgot to mention he still needs a haircut :haircut_woman:. LOL! My husband saI’d this hair makes him look like a monk. :see_no_evil:

Thank you for your advice. Highly appreciated. And thank you about my boys.

1 Like

You say the color is coming off? I seal before rooting the hair. That way I feel more comfortable in actually holding the baby’s head. Your sons are beautiful. Thank you for sharing their pics! I am getting ready to root my first AA baby today. The hair should be in the mail. I may have to pop back and use your sons as inspiration.

1 Like

I would have sealed him. I watched sealing videos but not getting the idearth properly. He actually lost colour by just sitting on the bed.

Here’s his colour before.