Is it too early for Christmas sales to pick up?

I am still new to making and selling. I sold my first two dolls in February, so it’s a first selling reborn Christmas for me. Since then I hear ‘This is not a right time… It will pick up around Christmas…’ Here we are less than 2 mo before Christmas. The number of babies for adoption on Reborns jumped from 1000 to 1254, which is more than 25%, as artists who were waiting for this time started to post they creations.
I am not worried about myself as I only have one baby for sale. I am just trying to understand this market.
I see beautifully painted and rooted babies on Reborns from $250 to $400 hanging there forever.
But even babies with a price below $200 is not selling much, they are the most popular as I think they go to children and customers does not care about quality, but still…

May be the army of moms place their orders on scamming sites and now reborns just lost their trust?
Or this is still ‘not the right time’?

6 Likes

I think this has a lot to do with it… also that every year people join the artist side. I think it tilts to more artists less buyers.

My first year as a seller I sold 13 between October and Dec. All on reborns. com.
Last year I think maybe 4 in that time frame…
This year 1 so far and 1 custom.

3 Likes

I have been having much the same thoughts as you. I especially wonder about those scamming sites.

3 Likes

Honestly, in 5 years of reborning I’ve only sold 1 doll around Christmas so these magical Christmas sales don’t exist to me lol I’ve never had it happen so I’m not counting on it now.

5 Likes

Yes, I think this is one of the huge factors. The availability of tutorials and other information make so many people to ‘try my hand’ (looks who is talking :wink: I am one of them).