Want to change skin tone

wonder if anyone can help me ,i’m new to reborns i have bought a baby, didn’t realise until she came how i don’t really like the skin tone she has , it was different in photo can i change her skin tone with air dry paints if she was painted with heat paints i would like to take some blue mauve tones out as she looks a bit like a dead baby :disappointed: thanks

Do you know how to paint these dolls?
Do you know if she was painted using air dry or heat set?
The reason I ask is painting over her existing paint may be harder than just taking all the paint off and redoing her completely.

Can you post a photo of the doll?

hi thanks for your reply no i haven’t painted before i was hoping to try ! i no she was painted with heat paints was hoping to blot some air dry paint over her to tone the blue and mauve is that possible ?
will post a pic of her

I believe Genesis can be painted over with air dry if you seal the vinyl really well. Genesis paints are oil based and air dry uses water, and the two don’t mix. Someone who has done both kinds of painting can answer you more.

But if you want to tone down the mauve and blue tones, you have to know how to neutralize those colors with certain colors. I agree that maybe you could just strip her down with Windsor & Newton brush cleaner solution and start fresh, painting her the way you want her to be.

1 Like

You could paint over the heat set. In my experience tho it is harder to go over someone else’s work. If I were you I would strip her and give yourself a blank canvas. Otherwise you may be in for a big headache and you don’t want that to be your intro to these dolls.

Or maybe you can buy another sculpt to practice until you are comfortable going over the old paint on the doll you have now.

thankyou for the info i think i will buy a cheap kit to start before i try and do anything with this baby can anyone point me in the right direction on a full starter kit

2 Likes