Unhappy client

So, I’m hoping to get some advice. I shipped this baby a week and a half ago. He’s been home several days now. Today, I heard from the client the client that she’s not happy with him. He was a custom order, and she says he has too much pink/red in his complexion and she doesn’t like how it looks. I sent her photos of his painting to approve before I sealed him, and I sent her more
Photos once he was completed, and she loved the photos. Now she’s saying they looked different from me her monitor, but I can’t do anything about that. I’ve been making dolls for several years now, and I’ve never had a client unhappy with my painting. I’m not sure how to handle it. Any suggestions?

9 Likes

As you have said you can’t be held responsible for her monitor showing images different, as long as the images you took were true to life then you have done nothing wrong.
I personally wouldn’t refund her, the doll looks lovely to me, she has the option to sell her on if she wishes.
I had a similar customer, doll was more red than she expected but she was very cool about it, she sold her on a few months later and put the money towards purchasing another off me which she loved

4 Likes

That doll is clearly well made. You sent her photos, she approved them. The end. If she was too pink or whatever, the time to tell you that would have been before you sealed her. If I spent a nice chunk of change on a custom, best believe I’d be checking from my phone and laptop. The fact that she didn’t is not your problem.

If she’s that unhappy, she can sell her.

5 Likes

That’s a beautiful baby.

4 Likes

I agree with everyone. She’s a beautiful baby and if she’s unhappy with her she can sell her.

4 Likes

Your Alexis is amazing! If she doesn’t like her - she can sell her.

5 Likes

Thanks everyone. I did consider letting her return him, but I’m afraid he might not come back in the same condition he left in. So I’m thinking of sticking to my no returns policy.

6 Likes