Taking reborns to nursing homes?

I’ve read from some people on here that sometimes take their reborns to nursing homes for the people to play with. I was considering doing this as well, but don’t know where to start.
I’m rather shy, so just going there or calling is kinda hard for me. Does anyone have any tips on how to approach this and perhaps deal with employees that just think I’m a plain crazy doll lady?
What are some things I should think about, apart from no magnets and no rooted dolls?

2 Likes

As a nurse I have taken babies that I made into the home where I worked and the residents loved to see them and hold them. I have also donated a baby to a different nursing for them to keep. They are great therapy especially for people with dementia they can have a calming effect. I would suggest using sleeping babies as if it is awake the resident may expect some interaction and not fully understand why it is not moving,however if someone puts a sleeping baby in your arms all you want to do is hold it gently. Don’t be too shy, if you can’t face going to a home try emailing them first to ask if they would like you to bring a reborn baby in as therapy for their residents. I don’t know who gets more back from therapy dolls the residents holding it or you seeing the effect it can have. All I can say is do it you won’t regret it.

4 Likes

Thank you for your information! I do have a sleeping reborn that I can take with me, I’ll just need to take the magnet out.
Emailing is a good idea, I may try that. It’s less scary, haha.

I can almost guarantee that the activity department would love you because they are always on the hunt for new things to do. The activity director plans everything that goes on in there so that would be a good starting point.

4 Likes

Call the nursing home and ask to speak with the activity director. Explain and he or she will set you up.

1 Like