Silicone fix

A customer of mine has a silicone with a rip in it. She wants to get it fixed if possible. Does anyone know who may be able to take a look at the damage and see if its fixable? She is looking for someone in canada to fix it.

2 Likes

@Leabelle @quiltsabunch @andik @MilosMeadows @Mommarobin

are the canadian artists that I can think of off the top of my head. I know for certain that some don’t do silicone, but they may know of more Canadian artists that I am not thinking of at the moment.

My first suggestion was going to be @anjsmiles until I saw that she was looking for somebody in Canada.

Would she be able to send you a picture of the tear that you can post here?

3 Likes

I have limited experience with silicone but could possibly help depending on how bad it is. Pics would definitely help

2 Likes

Just asked for pictures. I will post some as soon as she gets back to me. Thanks!

2 Likes

I do silicone but I am not super experienced. I personally know a good sculptor/artist here near my town that I can ask for help if needed.

1 Like

Sorry I’m one that doesn’t do silicone.

1 Like

I do not know who in that area could help her unless it would be Kris C. but I am not sure she takes on repairs. She is so busy with other things. She can get some SIlPoxy and easily repair a rip herself but if she is wanting a repair with color match then sending it to an artist would be her best option. I have done my own repairs on sculpts that had defects and I used Psycho Paints and the Silc Pigments to color match and repair the silicone. Then painted over it as usual. Some people repair with Ecoflex 20 or 30 so that it has more elasticity like the original pour if it is a very soft silicone but I have had good success just using the Psycho Paints. Maybe some of you all in her area could try that?

1 Like

Susan Gibbs in Vancouver is one who actively pouring silicone and has the silicone on hand , but I am not sure if she dose repairs for others .