Rooting questions & tips

Hi, so I’m waiting on my first proper kit to see be and making sure I have all the supplies I need, I would like to try rooting on this one but have questions.
What size rooting needles should I get?
Is it possible to get straight mohair and how do you determine quality of Mohair?
Also what do you use to map the head out that does not stain the vinyl?

Thanks
Jacky x

1 Like

That should say waiting for it to be shipped (autocorrect is a pain in the butt)

2 Likes

I’m new to reborning so the advice I’m giving you is based on what I’ve read. You can use chalkboard chalk or a prisma pencil to map out the rooting pattern. Kim @ CustomDollBaby on YouTube has some great videos all about this and the other questions you have asked. As far as needle size and type, it’s personal preference so it would be good to get a few of each to see what you like best. I’m planning to start with a 42g crown and a 42g single barb. A lot of people like forked so that may be a good one to try. Watch some YouTube videos about rooting, there’s so much info out there about that. For hair quality, there are a lot of good discussions on here about that. You can use the search feature. But the ones I hear the best info about is Golden Fleece, Slumberland, Karman Dolls (Etsy), HP Babylocks, J’s Premium Mohair, and suri alpaca hair. Some people like Ruby Red but it’s not considered to be one of the better ones based on what I’ve read. I have a doll with Ruby Red and I’m going to take it out and reroot her once my hair comes in (from Karman, J’s, or my HP Babylocks from MacPhersons - whichever gets here first). It’s a mess! But I think if someone were directionally monorooting it may work well. I only say that because some people say they don’t have problems with it and that’s the only way I can imagine why they wouldn’t. There are different textures of mohair based on the age of the sheep at shearing so it’s good to learn about that as well. The info on the Golden Fleece