Reborn painting

Hi everyone, I’m new here I’ve started trying to reborn and I’m using mod podge with water and acrylic paints is this ok ? , and can I use mod podge to seal after? Thankyou

1 Like

I’m not an expert. I only use Genesis. But I would think you need to get paints and sealers that are marketed for reborning specifically. You can buy starter sets fairly cheap. It doesn’t sound like it would be worth the risk to invest so much time using products that won’t hold up.

If you use craft paint, you better use decoart sealer or medium, like glass and tile one.

1 Like

I use genesis paints but i have used mod podge to glue the mohair from inside the head. I have no clue if you can paint with it.

If you want to use acrylics you should use professional quality ones like Golden or Liquitex brands or ones made specifically for reborning. I use Liquitex and really like the results. Craft acrylics will fade over time and all your work will be lost. I seal my air dry babies with Americana Soft Touch Varnish. I’ve never used Mod Podge as a sealer. Try it on a test piece to see if it’s flexible enough for vinyl. Otherwise, it may crack. YYou can also e-mail the company and ask them.

1 Like

I have to agree and disagree. On facebook @anjsmiles had a post on her group about craft paint. I wouldn’t use it for dolls I’d sell. I’m using professional paints and mediums and there is a difference. But, I also watch a YouTube channel by a woman who uses folk art. She uses Genesis to seal in her Nuwave. Her dolls look great and haven’t faded.

I recommend using the best you can afford. Professional or student grade acrylics, Golden or liquitex mediums, Loew or baby strokes brushes and lint free paper towels. You’ll regret cheap things later. And price the starter kits by items in the kit. Most of them aren’t worth it.

1 Like