REBORN BABY term trying to be trademarked

I received this email from a law firm based in China who I assume is looking for business to try and counter this trademark claim.

I thought it might be useful for others to know that someone is trying to trademark the term “Reborn Baby”.

I am not an intellectual property attorney, nor do I understand international or Chinese trademark law, but hopefully, if it is similar to the USA they would not be allowed to trademark such a term since it is general term used to describe a type of doll.

If someone was able to get such a trademark like this, it could really cause alot of trouble for anyone in the reborn doll business. Hopefully that won’t be the case.

-Dave

Dear Sirs,

This is Joanna from Beijing Gaowo IP Firm, which is dealing with legal matters involving trademark in China. Please help me transfer the email to colleague who is in charge with trademark, thank you in advance.

Our trademark research team notice someone is trying to register a trademark(REBORN BABY)which is published on 2020-01-27(yy-mm-dd) from a recent issue of the Chinese Trademark Gazette, open to opposition before 2020-04-27(yy-mm-dd), Beijing time, not extendable.

Particulars of the mark are list below for your reference:

Trademark name :REBORN BABY

Provisional Approval No.:37827831

Applicant: Shahe Yinuo Weike Trading Co., Ltd.

Class: 28

Goods/Service: Pet toys, toys, chess, game equipment, sports balls, exercise equipment, bows, skateboards, waist belts for sport, fishing rods

Article 33 of Trademark Law of People’s Republic of China:

Any person may, within three months from the date of the publication, file an opposition against the trademark that has, after been examination, been preliminary approved. When no opposition against the trademark is filed within three months from the date of publication, the trademark will be officially registered.