Question about applying Americana soft touch varnish

Hi there everyone! I have a question about applying the soft touch varnish. How do you apply it? it’s kind of thick coming out of the jar. Do I need to thin it with water?
I’ve seen Angie’s recipe for making it more matte.
This is the stuff I’m talking about:

Thanks,
Julie

2 Likes

Use Angie’s recipe. Many of us on the forum use it exclusively.

5 Likes

I use this one with Angie’s recipe.

2 Likes

I paint it on a wedge and blot it on. I also use Ang’s formula. I add a second coat 24 hours later.

4 Likes

It should be smooth and liquidy in the jar, kind of like runny glue. If it is thicker than that, it may be an old jar. My got really thick when I wasn’t using it. I was able to use water and salvage it, but it wasn’t the best.

4 Likes

I use it and only with Angie’s recipe.

I have been using this for a few years and I use it
straight from the jar. I also learned some things.

1. I always shake it vigorously, then stir, you will see a creamy difference. Make sure that you stir it very well. Especially at the bottom. 2. I apply a really thin layer on my sponge with tongue blade or popsicle stick (anything flat), removing any excess. If you see little white specks when pouncing it on, I pick them off first, sometimes it’s little sponge boogers or from the varnish. Lol You will see a difference as you’re applying it. I leave the kit to cure overnight. I repeat step 2. Many were applying it too thick which gives a gritty feeling. Here’s a few examples, some are several years old.

3. If you feel like it’s a little more textured than you would like, I like to run my hands up and down and around the limbs and around the entire head. This removes any of the finer rough feeling. It stays matte and scratch resistant. I hope that this helps you.

4 Likes

What’s Angie’s formula?

1 Like

Dissolve 1/4 tsp cornstarch in 20 drops distilled water then take 1 level picnic plastic teaspoon and mix them together.

3 Likes