Needle direction

Here’s a weird question for you. I have noticed on some of the tutorials for hair rooting that some of the people appear to be rooting the hair TOWARDS themselves. I am pretty new to rooting and I have been rooting AWAY from myself-----am I doing this all wrong? How do you all Root? Needle coming towards you or away from you?

I root towards me with the head on my leg.

what ever way the crown is
i always root towards the crown

it depends on how you want your hair to lay, if you want the back of the hair to lay flat on head then you root with needle away from you, and hold it at an angle not straight. So whichever way you want the hair to lay, your needle will go the opposite. So like if I want the bangs side swept to the left, I’d hold my needle pointing to the right.

1 Like

I guess I’m the oddball here. I always root sideways and turn the head however I need it to be so the hair is being rooted in the right direction (toward the crown, usually).

That works too😊, it’s ever how you prefer and like. My first one I did was terrible I rooted anyway and the hair stuck straight up.

@mscenteno You are not the only oddball. I root sideways also.

2 Likes

I sit with the head on a pillow on a table and hold it pretty much against my abdomen and then I root toward myself so that I am actually looking over the head to root from the bottom toward the crown. I rotate the head so that the needle is at the right angle to get the hair to be directionally rooted.

1 Like