Jen- Air Convect Oven

Hi, I am new to reborn. I have never reborn and I would love to painted one for my granddaughter instead of buying one. Just seems more precious! I am every crafty and can paint anything I look at. My concerns are the baking in the oven. I have a Jen-air convect with fan. Will this be ok as it is my main oven that I cook meals in? I have been reading and watching videos for a while and you all have scared me to death !! lol So, I am sure I wlll be back many times ! Thank you all so much !!

Doing one baby probably won’t hurt anything as many of us old timers started out using our main ovens to bake babies in.I would clean it good afterwards and not cook food in it between your layers of paint without cleaning.Vinyl does give off fumes.Clean it good and air it out afterwards and you should be fine doing one precious baby for your granddaughter.If you get hooked and decide to do more,invest in a nice nuwave or similar oven.

Thank you Mary Jane

What Nuwave would you recommended ?

Nuwave pro with extender ring is what I use.The extender ring is a must as it keeps the vinyl from being too close to the element.You can get the knock off brands which are around $30 right now this close to Christmas.Home Depot carries them as does our ALDI grocery store.They work fine.Usually they are glass and the Nuwave is plastic.I have used the knock off ovens,(have one now as a back up and for when a kit is larger and all the parts won’t fit in one oven.)I think a lot of the ladies on the forum have the knock offs and have not heard any complaints about them.Any Nuwave will work,even the older models as long as you get the extender ring.I have noticed them on Ebay and other local selling avenues for reasonable prices.Some of the ladies here purchased from QVC.That said, New Nuwaves cost more and are slightly bigger around than most of the knock off versions.