How much might a complete redo cost?

So I have this reborn, the BB Sugar sculpt from 2008. I don’t know when it was reborned, or even if it was really finished. I got it for a hundred bucks, nearly sight unseen.

The paint seems pretty crudely done, all creases are brown on pale skin, parts like hands and knees feel more rough than arms and legs. No idea if it was heat set or air dry. Lips are peeling. Nails have a quick looking French mani and no gloss.

There are no eyebrows or lashes. The hair is sparse and a little pluggy in some places, I finally got the tangles out after working it with a damp toothbrush.

The filling in the body seems mostly soft and puffy, with some grit deep in the bottom only. There’s a mysterious lump on one side that feels like a tumor. The arms weigh more than the legs. The feet squish with pressure, unlike my other reborns.

I think the fabric body is in good condition, as is the vinyl. I don’t see any damage.

I’m not an artist and am not looking for perfection, just an improvement. How much would you charge to do a dolly makeover? What can be done and how much should I expect to pay?
Thanks, guys. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

You would probably be better off buying another whole doll. The whole thing needs overhauled and that is extra labor and headache for an artist so they would probably charge a lot more. It is easier for them to start new than work around someone’s mistakes. An artist would have to strip all the paint off anyway and taking out the hair would leave big holes. Easier to start with new blank kit.

8 Likes

Yes, I was afraid of that. I just jumped at it because it was the right sculpt, complete and blonde. Ya get what you pay for, and at a distance, it’s not so bad. Not great close up as you can see.

How much would someone charge just for reweighting ?

I really wonder what that lump is inside, but without knowing how to put it back together I won’t open it up. :smile:

1 Like