How did you become interested in reborning?

I would love to hear stories about how/why you started reborning! I came across it by chance and don’t now anyone else in real life that even knows what it is. I am new to the hobby and am enjoying it so much! I stay up hours later than I should just to work on my baby because it is so much fun. I’m not good at it yet but am looking forward to the day that I can show off my work.

I came across reborn dolls on Ebay back in the summer of 2002…they looked SO REAL and I bought one. His name was Matthew. I could not WAIT to get him home. When he arrived, he was nothing like he looked on Ebay. He looked bruised and battered and I decided I would just make one for myself and started learning everything I could about making reborns. I was even asked to do an article on reborning by Doll Crafter Magazine; what a thrill! That was summer of 2004, if I remember right. I made a set of reborn raggies for another doll forum I belong to, and ended up selling a hundred sets of them…wish I’d kept a set for myself. Now here I am, 12 years later, and still plugging away.

Here’s one of my very early reborns…loved this Berenguer face, my raggie twins had the same face, LOL…

For me it was the fall of 2004 when a friend of mine brought over a baby doll she had bought from Ashton Drake (emily). We thought she looked so real and ooohed and aaahed over her. My friend said “you are crafty - you could probably make these” so after she left I went to the internet and searched (on and on and on) gathering all the information I could about reborns. I found a woman in Tennessee making reborns and she made me a sleeping Berenguer “sucky lip”. I still have her and she remains one of my favorite sculpts. Then in the spring of 2005 I purchased all the supplies I would need for reborning and the rest is history. I sell off my website, Etsy and local holiday craft shows.