Fading and how to prevent it

Hi everyone I am a reborn artist and I need help I want to prevent the fade of My reborns it has not happened to me but I want to know if I put the golden sealer a few coats on will it protect my babies I want them to last forever thank you

3 Likes

I haven’t heard of paint fading. Who’s experiencing or had experienced this? Please let me know what varnish you’re sealing with and what paint you’re using. Of course, nothing last forever but I would like to extend the life of the paint work if possible. Thank you in advance.

1 Like

Fading is usually the result of thinning air dry paints with nothing but water down to water color tinting. I have seen some Genesis painted babies fade a bit over time if the babies were kept in sunlight. Sunlight will cause any paint color to fade. Golden Polymer Matte Varnish does contain UV protection to help guard against fading.

4 Likes

Thank you so much what should I water down my air dry pint with ?

1 Like

Ok. Great. I use GHSP.

1 Like

Genesis heat set permanent matte varnish has UV protection. But not everyone uses it.

1 Like

Flow medium.

1 Like

Painting with archival quality, artist grade lightfast paints is a great way to avoid any fading. Especially with a Lightfastness Rating of a l-ll. Golden’s matte polymer varnish with UltraViolet Light Stabilizers is a fantastic addition as well. If using powders, pure pigments like PanPastels have an excellent Lightfastness.

2 Likes

The only time I have experienced fading was in the beginning. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to paint dolls, so I hesitated to invest a bunch of money into supplies and used cheap paint. Those dolls faded into really ugly colors, but oh well, my 6 year old plays with them. Now I use Golden paints with Golden matte polymer varnish and my dolls are holding up just fine.

3 Likes