Acrylic painting questions

Acrylic painting-
I’m looking into painting with acrylics. I don’t have a oven so I can’t use heat set paints and using chalk pastels is getting to be very hard on my hands. I have some experience painting art with acrylics.
But I have questions.

Does vinyl need to have some sort of foundation put on before painting? If it does what would that be?

Does it need some sort of sealant at the end? If so what would that be?

How long does the paint need to cure? Does it need to cure between layers too?

1 Like

What type of acrylics are you planning on using? It’s different for different paints. I never had to use a base with my Baby FX but now that I am switching to Reborn FX I am laying down the primer layer at the beginning. It makes for a very nice surface to apply the color to.

1 Like

I use Liquitex Professional Soft Body paints. I don’t prime them except for washing well and drying before I start. I always paint the neck and limb flanges also so I have an out of sight area to test for curing. It doesn’t need to cure between layers as long as it’s fully cured before sealing.
I use American Decor Soft Touch Varnish to seal.

Well I currently have a new 24 set of Loew Cornell paints( http://www.loew-cornell.com/product/paint/acrylic-metal-tube-paint-set-24-colors/ ) that I was given for Christmas. I don’t know how it is as a paint as I’ve never used it before.

Someone more experienced will come along and help you. I use Art and Magic Waterborne Paints and I do prep first with Folk Art Glass and Tile Medium. Excited to try liquitex soft body paints on an alternative but know that you can use them on a regular baby too. Good Luck!

I would contact Loew Cornell and ask if the paints you have are professional archival. If they are, I’d go ahead and try them.

1 Like