Reborn artists, how do you choose your keepers?

Hi there! I’m new to the BB Forum but only semi-new to reborning. So far I’ve repainted four babies, and I’m learning with each one. My latest reborn was the Faith kit by Heather Boneham. I got the kit intending to reborn and then sell as a boo boo baby (considering I’m still learning). Mostly because space is limited and I just can’t keep every repaint (or strip over and over again). So of course I fell in love with him, and he’s become a forever baby.

I think it was because I noticed a significant improvement in my painting. Or perhaps it was because I loved/hated how I did his hair and I wasn’t confident enough to sell him as is. Plus he’s super adorable. XD

Anyways! I was wondering how other artists (professional and amateur) decided on which babies to sell and which to keep in their own personal collection. Do you purposely pick kits you don’t like so that way you won’t be tempted to keep them? Or do you get kits you like just in case the babies stay in your home longer than expected?

Welcome to the forum!

My first keeper was intended to be one from the start because I love the kit. My second keeper was a surprise. She was made to sell but I fell in love with her during the painting process and I just can’t part with her, yet, if ever.

2 Likes

I still don’t have a “keeper”.

1 Like

My first one is my keeper and he was meant to be. He is one I did in memory of my baby son, Branden that was stillborn 19 years ago He would be considered a booboo baby too, but I love him so that is all that matters.

I have only painted 3 babies so far. I did sell my second one already and I plan to see my 3rd once he is finished. I just do not have a lot of time with work, school, and everyday life to spend making babies…although I would love to!

Even though my second reborn was not my favorite it was still hard for me to pack her up once she sold LOL. Especially after sitting in my living room and so cute looking LOL.