Pet peeves

What are some of the things that bother you when looking at reborns? I see so many well done babies with bright pink or red lips and it drives me nuts! Lol The other biggy is pluggy-looking rooting. Why not take that little bit of extra time and do a good job. I’m a beginner and have so much to learn, which is why I’m curious about what you all look for.

I don’t like to see caked paint in the creases. Also very dark mottling bothers me,
Mary

There is so much, I do not know where to start In this moment, what I really dislike is so much blue that if that was living child it would be confiscated by the authorities. Some of the really very professional artists can get away with such exaggeration; if it is over the top but very beautifully painted it will still look good. The problem is that reborners look for their inspiration in work of other reborners, instead doing what any real artist does = look at the real thing. There are plenty of real babies everywhere.
And of-course, the pluggy rooting, paint caked in the creases, and white thick blobs on the tips of nails, and equally thick moons on all 20 digits, and lips looking like they have lipstick, too thick and dark eyebrows. And any paint that is not blended, and veins and blotching that are obviously painted, instead of looking like they are deep in the skin.

All of the above PLUS…sleeping babies who are posed sitting upright. ACK!!! Head straight, not turned to the side or anything…just sitting straight up! Sleeping babies do NOT sit straight up!!! Nor do they pet kitties or play with toys…OMG…

And the lipstick look…ugh…

— Begin quote from “Karen in Florida”

All of the above PLUS…sleeping babies who are posed sitting upright. ACK!!! Head straight, not turned to the side or anything…just sitting straight up! Sleeping babies do NOT sit straight up!!! Nor do they pet kitties or play with toys…OMG…

And the lipstick look…ugh…

— End quote