Paper glass on eyes?

ok Newbie… questions about everything…Bought paper glaze for lips .now wonder can it be use for shining eyes ?.Just wonder why i dont hear it use for eyes only clear coat for eyes.

1 Like

I don’t glaze the eyes anymore. They go flat and dull over time.

1 Like

Paper glaze will eventually make the eyes cloudy. Ceramcoat works well to coat the eyes without getting cloudy. I’m on my phone and don’t have access to the tutorial link but you can find it on here when you search for ceramcoat.

I use Ceremacoat, too.

Debbie Henshaw has a great tutorial that I’ve used many times and really like it.

2 Likes

This is just what I have personally found with glazes - I’ve been collecting reborns for 9 years now (reborning for 7) Most glazes go cloudy over time when applied to the eyes…I would say that if you are wanting to try it, make sure that you do an extremely thin coat - I know for a fact that when applied with any amount of thickness they go cloudy - have had to replace eyes in many of the dolls that I bought back in 2007- 2011 done by various artist…I do know that there were several different kinds of glazes used because I know the artist and have asked and also the mediums breakdown differently - some just go cloudy some go gooey and cloudy…I would not recommend using a glaze over the eye…you can give your baby a ‘wet look’ just by going around the inside edge - rim- of the eye. Another thing I have found is that glazes are very very durable when applied over matte and/or satin varnish when used for lips, nails etc but may tend to go off - get sticky - after a few years if applied over painted surfaces that have not been sealed by varnish…this may be due to the ingredients in the paints and vinyls reacting to those in the glazes??? (and as mentioned above, this has just been my experience over 9 years of dealing with reborns )

6 Likes