Novice needing help

Complete novice to Reborning and need advice / guidance please. Tibby will be my first ever attempt at reborning, I am planning to make her a standing toddler but my question is, do I need to use an armature for her to achieve this? I am basically drawing together everthing I will need to complete her before I actually start the daunting task of making her up. I have the doll kit its self so far and have totally fallen in love with her. All hints, tips and advice will be most welcome and gratefully received

I am not sure about the armature. But my advice would be to start on a smaller kit, until you get the hang of the paint consistency, etc. so you dont get streaks, build up, etc.

Also depends what type of paint you are using and what oven if GHSP.

2 Likes

That is a big baby to be your first but here is some info.

http://discourse.bountifulbaby.com/t/tibby-armature/23065

Big baby for your first but you’ll have fun doing a toddler. If your looking for a cheap armature, hobby lobby sells a little one that is flexible links. You will probably need two of them. Use the extra one to add to the other to make it longer where you’ll need it to fit.

1 Like

lawd have Mercy I have A Hailey kit in the basement

1 Like

Dolls By Sandie has them up to 28 inches. That should work for Tibby. Also, because she’s a toddler, don’t weight her head. I stuffed it halfway then used foam pipe insulation for support. I haven’t used it with armature though. You may have to slit it about 3 inches to fit over it.

Thanks, still watching all the youtube videos’s first before I actually start her.

Its a seconds kit that I got so was a wee bit cheaper, went for the bigger baby as was advised that there wouldn’t be as much detail needed. Have seen a few smaller ones I really like too though so new found hobby is beginning to grow rather rapidly! Appreciate your advice though, thank you