Latest sculpt and artist pole

Below are pictures of my latest sculpt I am working on. I have a question for all of you. I am purposely waiting to sculpt the limbs of this baby because I wanted feedback. What is your preference when it comes to limbs on a baby. Do you like full limbs or 3/4 limbs? Do you like open hands or closed hands? Do you like the limbs to be bent and tight up to the body or do you like it to be more stretched out? These are some of the things I would like to know before I begin. I have painted babies for about 4 years now and I know what I like but I want to know what everyone else prefers. I tend to like the opposite of everyone else generally. LOL. I’m just curious to see people’s input. Thank you in advance for all of your wonderful comments.

20 Likes

Personally I like my babies to have full limbs. I’m not a reborn artist. I love looking at everyone’s craftsmanship.
I love babies, I love reborn’s because they capture a precious moment in time.

4 Likes

Full limbs, open hands but not straight and fused together, separated fingers… 1 relaxed straighter arm. The other being able to tuck under the head when posing.

6 Likes

That is amazing work! I like full limbs and I’ve always wanted one with the fencing pose.

fencing-baby-2-mo

fencing-1

9 Likes

I definitely prefer full limbs, I think most people do. I also dislike when kits have 2 closed hands. I don’t mind if one is closed, but I don’t like it when they have balled up fists. Makes them look angry to me lol. I also really like when reborns have straight limbs. It’s not very common, but it gives them more personality. I really really love my Birdie’s limbs. He’s got one straight leg and one curled leg. Same with his arms. Everyone has their own preferences though. I won’t necessarily not get a kit if it doesn’t have these features. I get kits based on the face, the limbs I look at later. Great job on your new one!

3 Likes