It's the great pumpkin Charlie Brown!

So I could use some serious input here as I’ve never had this problem before. I’m painting Dominic awake. I put her next to Lailani for color reference. I painted the head and limbs at the same time, but for some reason, the head turned really muddy while the limbs stayed a nice Caucasian tone. So I stripped it and started again, only the head was stained this horrific preachy /orange color. I started painting again and tried to color correct - nope, didn’t work. Stripped it again and tried to neutralize it as per the color wheel, and it appeared it might be OK, but when I started painting again, it went muddy! Aaaargh! I’ve color corrected and neutralized in the past with kits that were stained yellow and I’ve never had this trouble, but it’s really messing with me as to how it went south in the first place? Before I start again, has anyone ever had this trouble before? The second pic has

one of her limbs so you can see the color she was intended to be.

1 Like

She looks orange to me. Put a thin blue wash on her head to neutralize it and see how it looks.

1 Like

I’ve done that… Many, many times lol!
It’s like there’s something wonky worth the vinyl. According to the color wheel it had me neutralize with a teal blue. I put 9 very thin wash layers of that color on, and it turns muddy/ashy.

3 Likes

You can try orange/white, it works surprisingly well. Or blue/white. Just be careful to dilute enough or it can become chalky.
If nothing works, strip the limbs. At least all the pieces will be the same color to begin with.

2 Likes

I did a layer of the blue /white and it seemed chalky. Honestly, I really feel there’s something very wrong with this head. Since I painted everything at the same time originally, it should have been the same as the limbs, and quite frankly, if this were an AA baby it would be perfect, but it’s not, it’s a custom Caucasian baby, and it’s frustrating me so badly I’m ready to throw it in the trash!