Does James look done?

I am pretty sure aside from just a few more things like fingernails, eyebrows, hair, etc. that James is done. What do you think? Is there anything he should have that I’m missing? Or maybe something that needs to be fixed before I varnish him? I was also wondering if you need to varnish before doing the nails? This is my first time attempting limbs. They got really shiny for some reason :thinking:

5 Likes

Beautiful creasing and mottling! It looks like he is missing shading, undertones and a blue wash…Keep working on his skin tone as he’s not quite alive yet.

2 Likes

Shading inside his ears also.

2 Likes

Thank you! He’s got some shading in his ears but a lot of it faded :confused: I’ll go back over it and work more on his skin tone tonight! :blush:

1 Like

Beautiful! I say done!

1 Like

I varnish nails after painting, before glossing. I use a satin finish to gloss so the nails have a natural sheen.

3 Likes

Don’t forget shading the nostrils too. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

He really matches your color/complexion!!

1 Like

The vinyl can get a bit shiny if it’s handled a lot. My kits seemed to pull the oils right off of my hands. I tried to only handle them by the flange but that isn’t always easy and was causing my hands to cramp. I ended up buying a box of gloves from Walmart, and it’s really helped keep the shine down.

Also, don’t fret- ghsp matte varnish will cut the shine dramatically.

You’re doing well on James and you’ve received some good advice here. He’s looking good, but with a bit of patience, he can look even better. I know how hard it can be to fight that urge to call a baby done, however, holding off just a bit longer will be worth it in the end.

2 Likes

Thank you everybody!!