Are certificates important?

Just wondering if customers mind a Realborn without the COA/certificate? Do you explain that the kit was bought as a seconds so therefore it has no certificate?

I normally buy the Realborns on sale so they have a certificate but I purchased a couple of kits yesterday that are seconds and it got me to thinking about this. I can send along another birth certificate, it just won’t be the same as the authentic one.

2 Likes

I’ve been wondering the same thing. I’m new at this, so my customers tend to not be big time collectors. But so far, none of mine have cared to get the certificate. I actually have certificates on all the realborns I’ve sold. But I forgot to mail a few of them. The customers all said don’t worry about it. But I also have several seconds realborns to make and I wonder how to handle the certificate issue. As for second quality…I’ve never had any kits with issues I couldn’t fix. So I don’t see any reason to mention that it’s a seconds if it no longer has issues. (Removable black spots is all I’ve had to deal with on seconds.)

3 Likes

I list all my dolls as coming with a birth certificate, then send along whatever I have. Firsts with a coa, fine. Seconds get a birth certificate that I make. Nobody seems to care. And if I had to guess, most probably wouldn’t except for serious collectors and those purchasing higher end dolls.

7 Likes

I send mine with a birth card/certificate and the COA if I have it. If I don’t have the COA I don’t worry about it. In the 9 plus years I’ve been reborning I have only been ask 1 time about the COA.

4 Likes

I have seen other people have a pain in the butt customer due to no COA. They thought that meant the kit used (2nds) was defective and not mentioned.

I just grabbed a 2nds realborn too and in my description I will state that it was a 2nds kit with no COA and what issue I found that it had. (Normally dirt or a dent… maybe a spot, etc)

3 Likes