Unhappy customer…Advice needed

Hi everyone. :blush: I’m in need of some advice this morning. Around four months ago, I shipped a Johannah to a customer who had purchased it for her daughter.

Within a few days, I received an email from
The customer’s daughter saying the leg had come off. I was horrified to hear that, but no big deal to fix, I sent zip tied and explained how to fix it and never heard anything else from them.

Then, today, four months later, I get photos in my email from the mom, showing the baby’s head off, and telling me that now the head just came off when the baby was picked up, and something is wrong with her doll because it’s falling apart and she wants a new doll put together correctly or a full refund.

While I can’t say for certain it’s not my fault, I’ve been making reborns for seven years, and I’ve never had dolls just falling apart. I suspect it has something to do with how the doll is being handled.

I don’t feel like I should refund her money. It is such a simple fix. But I worry if she can get her money back through PayPal. Any suggestions?

I believe PayPal will issue a refund within 180 days of purchase.
Do you send a detailed care sheet with your babies? Is the baby being played with by a child?
If it were me, I would send a polite message back offering to send zip ties, and reference my care sheet for proper handling. A refund after 4 months over a zip tie is ludicrous!

5 Likes

I do send a very detailed care sheet describing how gently the baby should be handled and how the head should be supported at all times.

I really worry that she will open a claim and get her money back and get to keep the baby. :disappointed:

1 Like

I would fight that tooth and nail!

2 Likes

It seems you knew it was being purchased for a child so I think paypal will refund her.