Slow sales, what might help

I have been reading a lot of post lately, frustrated doll artists who are struggling with sales. Many are newish to this, some have been around awhile.

I have not been doing this very long but I have been making art in general a long time. I don’t like the marketing and sales component, I hate putting a number on my work that sets a value, it feels…yucky but the reality is money is liquid creativity and in order to keep creating you have to generate a little money or win the lottery.

I wrote this in another thread and thought I would share it in hopes that it might be helpful to someone else. I am not an expert, like everyone else I ride out the slow times and celebrate when things pick up.
I hear a lot of people feeling frustrated about this.

I do well on both Etsy and Reborns.com

I make babies for the pleasure of it, my style is slowly developing and I suspect it will keep evolving, I think that is fun.

Slow times happen but if things are slow for and you find yourself blaming the market, you might want to pause and consider that you might need to tweak your game a little.

Buyers are picky because they can be, there are so many babies to choose from.

-Is your photography clean, well lit, free of personal items in the background? Are you providing photos of top of head, left and right side, feet, full body?

-Are you styling your baby in a way that will be appealing not just to you but across the board. Sometimes keeping babies styled simply if you haven’t established a style is the best way to go.

-Have you compared your baby to other babies that are the same kit and artists who are at the same skill level as you? How are they selling, what are their prices like, are you competitive or at the same price point?