Rooting, where do I start?

O.K. I have been looking at some tutorials on rooting and I don’t really know where to start.
So do I have to draw on the head the different sections?
How does rooting actually work? I’m confused, how does the needle push the hair into the head.
I see that you can root from the middle of the strip of mohair or the cut end but I’m confused, what is the difference? what about heating the head? do you heat at a lower temp than when baking the paint? and do you heat the head each time you root? what about when there is hair on the head? won’t that melt the hair?
I have never done this before so I’m pretty confused and a little scared to try.
Advise please for an absolute beginner.
Links to any helpful tutorials would be great, especially video/talking ones.
Many Thanks

let’s see if i can help.
-the needles have a little barb on the side that grab the hair and push it through the vinyl with the needle. when you pull the needle out, it stays in.

• you can heat the head to make it softer and easier to poke the needle through. Although alot of the newer kits from BB are so soft, they don’t need it. To heat the head, you don’t stick it in the oven. You make a rice sock. All that is is an old sock filled with about a cup of uncooked rice. tie it off. you then stick it in the microwave for about a minute and a half sitting beside a measuring cup of water (i don’t do that, but it is recommended so the rice doesn’t burn). When it is done, stuff it inside the head and fill the rest with polyfil. keep it there the whole time you root. when it gets cold, repeat the process. be careful, they get VERY HOT!!!

-Rooting from the end and from the middle are a matter of preference. If you root from th emiddle you will have 2 hairs in each hole (2 halves) if you root from the end (harder) you will have just one hair in each hole.