Painted heads,

I’m just beginning to wonder if maybe doing a partially painted head, especially around the temples would help my sales a little. While I really love reborning and don’t expect to make a fortune it is discouraging when my babies don’t sell. I was thinking about trying to do some hair painting being that it seems to be selling a little better, though I love the real mohair. Does any one have any suggestions for painting at least the temples. I’m not sure what brushes to use and how thin the paint has to be or if medium extender needs to be used to get texture. I haven’t seen any tutorials on painting. I would really love to see some better tutorials put out in much more detail on rooting the mohair since to me this is the most time consuming and really affects how the babies look.

Appreciate any comments on this subject. I have many, many babies to reborn and I really won’t give up on it. Love doing it.

Well I can tell you what I learned NOT to do lol. I painted hair for my niece using my super thin veining brush (works well) in layers baking in between so they don’t bleed together and blur. This worked good I think. BUT THEN I painted over it with thick extender for texture. Don’t do that lol. Idk maybe it’s just me. It’s not like eyebrows adding strokes over a short hairs. When I tried to make hairlike strokes it just kind of melted and spread. I was using it straight out of the jar. I think it just ended up giving her a hard helmet of hair that doesn’t feel natural. Next time I decided to use it I’d add it to the paint, maybe thinned some idk without seeing it, then do my hair in layers as normal.

I have a head I’m working on that I painted hair first. I’ll try to put pics on in a bit. I’m still learning but I’ll share my attempt with you.
hugs,
Nicole

Here are some pics of my rooting over painted hair. I didn’t paint as much as I would have if I was going to leave it just painted. I mostly wanted a guide to follow.
Hugs,
Nicole