Paint coming off

Hi all I use genisis and when I start varnishing blushing starts coming off my dolls lips, toes and fingers. I would think first not curing properly but no other paint muddles together. I would think just the kit but it happened to 3 dolls and 1 was a redo because it happened to it before. I varnished his feet before I started painting. Do you think it’s my paints or brushes. Maybe oils from hands. I’m not sure. It’s very frustrating.

Are you baking your kit?

Yes I’m using genisis. I bake after blushing. It’s when I apply the varnish the blushing comes off.

Are you baking just after blushing or between every few layers as well?

Baking every layer aside from mottling.

Do you use any brush cleaner between layers? Is it possible that your blush color is contaminated?

What kind of oven? (Conventional ovens don’t keep temp very accurately.)

No I just use thinner to clean my brushes. Should I be cleaning with something else?

I use a nuwave

I would start with checking to make sure your oven is getting up to temp. It may not be curing properly.

1 Like

I would think that if everything was coming off and not just the blushing. More specific the toes and fingers. The lips were too bit used some of the colors I’m using for my blushing and wondering if it’s my paints.

If you’re blushing layer is your last layer, then your other layers are baking multiple times. So, if the oven is not getting up to temp, but the earlier layers are exposed to the heat for an extended time because of subsequent baking, that could explain the difference.

2 Likes

The blushing is baked a few times because I bake nails in 2 bakes and they are last. Plus the lips are done before blushing and they were coming off too. This is the first this has Happened. I did all 3 of these dolls at the same time and done at least 12 dolls ahead of them in the same nuwave.

1 Like