New Vinyl Differences?

Do you feel that the newer vinyl being used on a lot of kits today soaks up (eats up) more paint than vinyl from four or more years ago? Do you find yourself having to mix your mottle and blush paints a little thicker so they will show up better?

7 Likes

I just started so I don’t have anything to compare my new kits to, but all the kits I have worked on soak up A LOT of paint! It takes so many layers to get noticeable results.
Maybe cheaper vinyl is being used?

2 Likes

I’m glad you shared. I’ve been reborning for about six years. It seemed that until about three years ago I would get mottling showing up and faster results with probably half the layers. I put on a mottle now and it disappears as it flashes off. I don’t recall this when I first started doing this. I find myself mixing my colors darker now and sometimes certain parts of the vinyl will still soak it up while other parts don’t, kind of making the mottle more uneven. I suspect there have been changes made to the kit vinyls.

4 Likes

I haven’t noticed that, but I don’t paint bb kits often. Is it just with them or with others too? I use pretty concentrated paint because I have no patience for invisible thin layers.

1 Like

Even within newer sculpts, it’s hit or miss. I had a custom Landon to do recently, so I figured I may as well paint two of them. So I did, using the exact same paint mixes, and they turned out two different colors. Go figure. :smile:

3 Likes

I find BB kits tend to soak up paint faster than non-BB kits for sure. I have a Cozy and a Sadie here that I bought a while ago - more than 4 years ago I believe - and I’ll come back to compare to new BB kits after I paint them. But you’re not crazy IMO!! My 3 month Joseph ate paint like you wouldn’t believe, and I feel like no matter how many times I blush Emmy’s fingertips they still look white.

3 Likes