Need some help with gage needles ,can any one help me pls ☹️

This is my second temp in rooting ,but my needles keep braking every day ,I am a beginner rooter ,I was using. The 38 gage needles, but the craft sore from Aussie reborn supply store does not carry it anymore ,and it’s from Australia :australia:,I know that at the doll so real sales a lot of the 36 gage needles for beginners ,and I see the 42 as well ,should I continue to order the 42 gage needles, or do you all recommend the 36 gage needles for beginners? ,am very desperate to get my 10 inch kit done ,but with the 42 gage needles takes for ever and the hole is much smaller and harder to see if Hair went throw the 42 gage needles.i have to feel it more then Abbie to see if it went in or not ,you can see on this pic on the 42 gage needle broke on me ,I only have like 4 Left, that does concerns me ,as I have to wait til Nov 3 to purchase more ,as I get paid monthly ,any advice ,I sure can use one eek :grimacing:

Most rooters use 42 gauge or forked needle. How are you holding the needle going into the head. Use should go in at an angle with the needle close to the head. I make my own needle holder. Only about an inch of my needle is present.

Are you using a rooting tool or just the needle? Try a 38 gauge 2 Barb needle. It’s big enough to see what you’re doing, but doesn’t pick up as many hairs so it doesn’t get plugs. it looks like your using a 6 Barb needle. Those pick up a lot of hair at once. I’m not sure the forked needle would be your best option because you have to keep the fork in just the right position for it to pick up any hair. I can’t even see the fork, never mind keep it in the right direction. No matter what needle you use, rooting takes a long time for most people.

1 Like

Spiral needles are fairly sturdy for beginners. But I don’t know where you would buy them in Australia.

1 Like

aunt Jenny.com.au/ has a 10 pack of spiral needles for $16 AUD.

2 Likes