Melted Mouth?!?

I got a cheap reborn that was someone’s first try, so obviously it’s not great quality (it kinda looks like they put almost no effort into the head, as that’s the problem area) and I tried using acetone to remove the paint from the lips, but all of a sudden the mouth opened and I see stuffing staring at me from the inside of the doll! Is there any way to fix this? I don’t remember what the doll is made of but at this point I’m assuming it’s that weird squishy soft vinyl since I can literally peel the paint off? I have no experience in doing this sort of stuff so I’ve just been watching tutorials and using this site for help.

1 Like

Welcome to the Forum! I think you need to post a pic and tell us what kind of paint was used is order to help you better. Some people like to open the mouth so that it can take a full pac. That is not recommended because the cut may get larger in the future. Good Luck, cant wait to see pics of your baby.

2 Likes

I don’t know. I didn’t make this baby. I don’t have contact with the seller. I just want to try and figure out how to close the mouth permanently. And if I’m thinking correctly, the seller used the paint on the lips to close the mouth, so maybe they cut it at some point? I don’t know, I’m so clueless.Uploading: 68CBB350-4B9B-4196-B62A-DB3B39A72BBF.jpeg…

Your picture didn’t upload. Repost it but wait until the word Uploading is gone

Hopefully we can advise on how to fix.

I accidentally clicked off it the first time. When I came back, there was no uploading word and I thought it would just keep loading or something.

Wow.
First of all that doll looks like the paint is far too thick. Particularly on the mouth.

What did they use to paint it?

I’m not sure if you an glue that mouth shut. It looks like it was cut open. That compromises the vinyl.

1 Like

The doll is also very shiny. Is it perhaps rubber rather than vinyl?

Paint won’t stick if its not vinyl. Looks rubbery to me.

1 Like