Lashes and Lips

So, while shopping for reborns online, my bf’s oldest took an interest in the dolls and pointed out a sculpt he liked best, “Sugar”.

A few weeks later, I noticed someone had posted a doll made with the Sugar sculpt announcing they were getting out of the reborning hobby, and selling this doll for just a hundred dollars. We jumped at the chance and got lucky. (We are grateful and need to send her a thank-you note for selling at such a discount.) It’s unknown if she was the artist or a collector.

Sugar just arrived in the mail today. This is my first experience up close with a reborn.
I think she’s in very decent condition, not super detailed as I don’t notice any veining or mottling at all.
She doesn’t have eyelashes on closed eyes. A slight concern is that her lips have some slight peeling. It doesn’t seem to have effected the lip color much.

What can I do to help fix the peeling and attach lashes before Sugar is gifted? I have zero reborning experience and probably average crafting skills.

I know he’s going to love her. Just want to make her look pretty.

Thanks for your help, guys. :two_hearts:

1 Like

It would be helpful if you could post a picture so we can see how best to guide you.

1 Like

Sure thing! Gimme a minute to unbox in private so the new Daddy doesn’t see.

1 Like

3 Likes

I guess she has a little mottling? It’s very faint.

1 Like

Do you know what type of paint she was painted with?

1 Like

1 Like

She also has heavily creased eyes done with brown, but no brows.

1 Like

I suspect this uncovered magnet on the paci is the reason for the chapped lips.

1 Like

No idea what kind of paints were used. The post was very brief. We just saw three fully dressed pix in someone’s home and a statement that they were getting out of the hobby.

1 Like

Appears to be peeling varnish. Whatever was used to gloss the lips is peeling off.

1 Like