I'm not good at reborning should I just give up? I feel like giving up

I’m not good at reborning. I have tryed multiple times but just end up ruining the kit because I dont like the results. They never look like i have actually painted them or they look to red or too blotchy or just plain messed up.i then end up taking the paint off and ruining the kit even more. I paint with air dry paints but I’m scared to get genesis because of the money I will waste if I’m not good at painting with genesis either. I honestly dont know what to do I want to completely give up but I dont because I still have a little bit of hope left what little there is of it. I think another problem I have with painting is that I find it hard to follow tutorials as I’m more of a hands on type or person I find it hard because everyone has their unique sort of style and I dont want to copy and I find it hard to copy and translate what they are doing to apply it to my own style if that makes sence. I also have a horrible habit of deliberately ruining my work once it’s done. I’ve done this ever since I was little I dont know why. I think its because I dont feel good enough.i may try sculpting instead but dust just gets in the clay and It doesnt look clean. That is what I’m worried about. Can anyone give me some advice.

1 Like

I would suggest Sue-Ellen’s Patreon videos if you can afford it. She uses Ultimate Fusion, but her directions can be followed with pretty much any paint. She has beginner videos and so much more.

4 Likes

As a user of air dry paints, I can tell you that they are very unforgiving. You really need the experience to know what you are doing because you have to work quickly and catch mistakes super fast otherwise you have to work around them (a talent in itself, trust me) or strip the kit. The choice is between genesis and a whole lot of patience. :grin: