Has anyone used velour fabric for their bodies?

As an alternative to doe suede. Its hard to find reasonably priced doe suede online in white!!

I was getting mine made out of white chenille! It was incredible. Chris was making them for me. Unfortunately she is taking a break

oooo chenille sounds nice. Would be so soft.

I’ve been wondering about bodies too and different types of materials besides doe suede… right now I’ve bought some flannel and eyelet (which I know has been done) but I hope it works for me… I’m new at sewing.

i have used white fleece and it works really well. it does not fray so there is no need to finish the edges.

oh my! i absolutly love it.

i am not sure what eyelet is. can you describe it for me? Thanks

I have used white robe velour before. It feels sort of like a heavier brushed nylon. I used to get it at Joanne’s Fabrics but they quit carrying it.
Here’s a body from long ago made with it:

Now I use white or cream butter suede that I get at Hancock Fabrics. It is almost the same as doe suede.
Here’s a baby with a white butter suede body:

thanks so much for responding. that looks alot like fleece.i really prefer white because when the neck shows it looks like part of the onesie my babies usually wear. i am embarrased to admit that i do not know how to transfer pictures of my dolls to this forum but i am hoping to learn how very soon. thank-you again for your pictures. lynchie1

I think the only thing you need to be careful of in using different fabrics is that it doesn’t stretch much. That is the nice thing about Doe suede, it doesn’t stretch at all. But any soft fabric should work well if it doesn’t have a lot of stretch, like some velour does. Nancy

thanks so much for the tip. the fleece i used has a one way stretch and i accomadated for that by making the width smaller. lynchie1

Ok, I can make bodies but where do you get those gismo’s for the joints?

marci

www.frillyfrillz.webs.com