Hair glued to scalp question

I’m new to reborning, but I have a few reborns I’ve purchased from artists. I was in love with rooted hair…until I got 2 babies with rooted hair. The hair is just falling out so badly. Just from putting hats on or changing clothes. If it’s not falling out it’s just fuzz. Looks good when I use the leave in conditioner until it dries and as long as I don’t move the baby.

My question is…I watch a tutorial on hair rooting, but this time the artist glued the hair to the scalp after rooting ( outside of the head not inside to hold the hair in place). Some of the hair was not glued and kinda raised from the scalp, but it looked really good. I don’t see any posts on here about glueing to scalp. Is this method not used? Is it an old method? Is it something more commonly found in cheaper dolls?
Would love to hair (kidding, hear) your comments.

Thx guys!!

5 Likes

I think people call it the applied hair method. See if that pops up.

5 Likes

It is called applied hair. @jlesser has done it.

2 Likes

Melissa George does it, she is a prototype artist.
I have done it 3 times now. Rooted then glued is way better than trying to glue down unrooted. ; )

(don’t do it this way :wink: not rooted )

(rooted then glued down with liquitex matte gel and a clean mascara brush, wiping off access glue as I go)

Latest applied hair same technique

10 Likes

I used mod podge matte and it was too shiny. It took a while for this doll to sell. I like how this looks so I will try Jens advise with the liquitex matte gel. But it’s nice because you can hold the fancy styling without it getting messed up every second lol

11 Likes

I love it!! Looks great. That’s what I’m going to try. Thanks Jen!?

1 Like

Looks really good Kate. I’m sold on the idea.

2 Likes

I like it! I need to try it one day!