Blushing disappearing

Help, although I have not introduced myself I have been on this forum for months gathering information. Anyway I’ve seen how helpful everyone is to each other so I thought it time to introduce myself to everyone. My name is Pat and I’m new to reborning. Almost sounds like an AA meeting I’ve never been but this hobby or business for some is addictive. Here’s my problem I have put many layers on my baby and is seems like the blushing just disappears.I’m using genesis paints thin layers but I’m just not seeing much color. Any thoughts on something I’m doing wrong? As soon as I figure out how too put a picture on here with my iPad I will.

Welcome. This is a fun and helpful forum. Yes, many of us are addicted, myself included, but it’s a harmless addiction (unless you spend the mortgage money on doll kits). I use air dry paints, but I have read on here that putting a sealer on first will help keep so much of the color from being absorbed by the vinyl. You could try that or wait for advice from someone who uses Genesis.

I am new to reborning too, but I have found that when the blushing isn’t showing up for me it’s usually because I added to much paint thinner and not enough paint. I have also found that I tend to dab almost all the paint off my sponge before I apply it to the baby that I am working on. Others may have more options for you.

Do a layer of matte varnish before you start to paint your doll. This will seal the vinyl somewhat and allow it to take better. I have heard some people say it’s okay to put the matte on at the point where you are and then just go on, but I have never tried that.

If you just keep on adding layers, eventually it will stay anyway, and you will be rewarded with lots of depth to your skin tones. It can be frustrating, but patience is the name of game when you’re reborning.

Thank you ,do you like the air dry paints better than genesis heat set? I have so much money in them I really can’t afford to switch.