Birth certificate name and b-day

I’m almost finished with my first realborn. In filling out the certificate, do I put the day of completion for birthdate? Also, should I add a name of my choosing for this creation? Or do I leave them both blank for potential buyers?
I see pros and cons for both ways, but since I am new to this, I thought I’d ask about the standard. Thank you

1 Like

I add the day baby was finished as the birthdate but leave the name blank. For a custom I ask what they want the birthdate to be or leave it blank.

1 Like

I always send it untouched as I don’t know how the buyer would like it . Some they want the actual day some the day they received the baby .
Also some dolls sell fast some in a few months . I don’t know if you want your buyer to see how long the baby was stuck with you ?? If they ask for sure you let them know .

What I do I have a list of my finished babies with the birthdate , weight etc . and where they went ( ex . WA ; USA )
You can always check that if you need too .

3 Likes

I use the day I list it as the birth date and ask my customers if they want to keep the name I chose or have me put their choice on the birth certificate.

1 Like

Thank you all for your input. I guess I will just make a log or a copy of the birth certificate, input my own info, and leave those areas blank on the original. Also, If I manage to sell, I will take your advice, Andik, and also include where they went on my copy.
What you said about how long you’re “stuck”" with the baby was one of the cons for me because my first doll is almost a year old already , but she has only been shown at a few craft shows.
As an artist, I want my stuff to be authentic and dated. It will be one of the very few ways my existence will be remembered, as I mostly live like a hermit. That’s why it’s all such a dilemma for me. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience.

1 Like