Becoming a good reborn artist

I have been reborning for approximately 3 years, not sure how many dolls I’ve made in that time.
I’m guessing around 40.

I still don’t feel as if I’m very good at it and am thinking of giving it up. Obviously I have improved from the 1st one I ever made, although I can’t help but feel I should have improved more.

My question to all you talented ladies is how long have you been reborning for? How long do you think it took until you made a baby you thought was realistic?

2 Likes

Over 15 years.
I was doing this when Bountiful baby had the original forum. Lol.

I STILL improve with each baby. An artist never stops learning.

Post some pictures. I would love to see your work. X

3 Likes

Thank you, oh you’ve been doing this for quite some time lol. Here are some pictures of my latest dolls. Most recent starting from the 3rd picture .

xx

6 Likes

Cuties.

My question is. What do you want out of this art? Your dolls aren’t badly done. I will say they look a little…flat. To me. They need more varied tones. When doing a reborn you want to kind of exaggerate things. Blue. Purple. Ect

But you can improve. You have a great starting point.

But my question is. What do you want? Do you want to be a prototype quality artist. Do you just want to make pretty babies?

So many people think they can jump into this and make gorgeous babies from the start. But you have to pay your dues. As it were.
And ask yourself if you are willing to take the time to improve or if reborning is just not that important to you.

Your babies are cute. You can do it if you want to. :heart::heart:

6 Likes

Thank you, I normally do 3 or 4 mottling layers. I’ve found in the past when I’ve done more the baby looked over painted? I hope that makes sense.

I still struggle with creasing. I think I should have mastered it by now but I find it really hard. I’ve watched lots of reborn tutorials on YouTube x