Average paint time

On average, how long does it take you to paint a doll. Just paint, not rooting, hair painting nor putting it together.

3 Likes

Forever!!! Idk how other people can whip out a dolly a day. My bones hurt too much for that!

7 Likes

Depend of the kit, details I add and creases, between 3 days and 2 weeks. I use air dry. Realborn usually take longer…

2 Likes

It usually takes me two days to paint one. When I paint one I obsess over it and paint until it is finished. Veins and then creases and shading… So usually it takes 20 plus actual hours. Then I have to let them sit because I use air dry paint and I want them to have some good drying before I seal

2 Likes

I am a fast painter, but ONLY because I have no distractions and can do 12 to 15 hour days if necessary, quite often I work early morning 8 am too 3 or 5 am the next morning stopping only for one coffee break and a half hour lunch…I crash for a day when I finish a doll…but on average for a 22 inch or smaller baby I need 48 to 50 hours for just paint. I dont stop much till I finish either, but I can relax a bit as I just root evenings.
I timed myself with the last 5 dolls I made…it def surprised me. Time does go by fast when your indulged in your craft!

5 Likes

I don’t have a “recipe” that some folks have. It’s different every time, except the getting-started bit. I’ve painted for 3 days before and felt done. Then I’ve painted for 4 weeks…

3 Likes

It typically takes me 1 to 3 days but I paint around 8-12 hours a day. Normally, I don’t get to paint on the weekends because my 4 year old nephew comes over usually.

4 Likes

For some reason my dolls end up taking about 2 weeks to paint. I have kids, so I can’t work into the night or on weekends. I use air dry paint, which I would think would be faster because there’s no baking involved, but still…

I definitely envy the folks who can churn out a doll per day.

4 Likes