Air Dry artists

Hello all. Years ago I was a Berenguer reborn artist with my sister @Katinafleming. She got back into it & has got me wanting to do it again too. I really want to try the air dry technique. She does the baking so her knowledge on the air dry is somewhat limited. I would love to see your air dry babies. So show them off please. I am pretty much starting from scratch so any advice would be greatly appreciated. What must need supplies do you recommend for this technique? Favorite paints? Favorite brushes? Favorite order to paint? Favorite primer/sealer? Favorite anything else? I would love to hear any advice you guys have!
Thanks in advance for any help,
Starla

Hi, Starla. I use Liquitex Professional Soft Body and Hard Body acrylic paints with a little bit of Liquitex Ultra Matte Gel mixed in. I mix my own colors. I like that I can just go buy them at Michael’s and that they don’t need any special mediums-just distilled water. I use Americana Soft Touch Varnish with a little cornstarch added for sealing. I usually don’t seal my babies before painting unless the vinyl is shiny. The best advice I have is buy good brushes and cosmetic sponges without any additives. Here are some of my air dry babies.

DSCN0015

DSCN0232

DSCN0511

Hi and welcome! Posting a couple pics before I go to sleep. I use baby fx paints which have been discontinued. My paint medium is Golden satin glazing liquid. I mix In some distilled water too. My sealing varnish is Americana soft touch varnish with some cornstarch mixed in. Just using cheap Walmart paint brushes but do have some elf makeup brushes I use for creases and hard to reach areas. My biggest pet peeve for airdry is the lint. I look over my pieces each time I get ready to paint a layer, and remove any fuzzes I see. Right after painting I blow it dry with the hair dryer so there is less time for the wet paint to collect lint.

Beautiful babies. I’ve never had a problem with lint. Do you live in a humid area?